David Zuck Memorial Prize

The David Zuck Memorial Prize of the History of Anaesthesia Society  is awarded annually for the best paper or chapter in a book published the preceding year. The nominated item/items must be:

  1. on the history of anaesthesia, resuscitation, intensive care or pain management;
  2. published in the English language

The nominator (if not self-nominated) must provide confirmation that the author has accepted his/her publication being nominated. A maximum of two nominations from any one nominator will be considered.

Nominations should be sent by email to the Chair of the D. Zuck Prize Committee, Professor Rajinder Mirakhur: r.mirakhur@btinternet.com

The paper or chapter must be sent as an attachment: word-processed document or PDF. The winner is announced at the History of Anaesthesia Society’s annual scientific meeting.

Previous winners

2023: Dr PJ Featherstone

John Henry Evans, MD: Founding Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Anesthesia Research Society, and a forgotten pioneer of oxygen therapy.  Anesthesia and Analgesia 2022; 135(2S): S18-S25.

2022: Dr RP Haridas
John Davies Thomas: Chloroformist in London and pioneer South Australian doctor.  Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 2021; 49 (Issue 1 Suppl): 6-16.

2021: Dr AB Levin, Dr CM Ball and Dr PJ Featherstone
From cholera to COVID-19: How pandemics have shaped the development of anaesthesia and intensive care medicine.  Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 2020; 48 (Issue 3 Suppl): 28-38.

2020: Dr A Keys
Dr Ian Hamilton McDonald, MB BS, DA, FANZCA: The evolution of paediatric anaesthesia and intensive care at the Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne. Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 2019; 47 (Issue 3 Suppl): 6-16.

2019: Dr MG Cooper, Ms AC Gebels, Dr RJ Bailey and Dr KM Whish
Unusual Partnerships: The Corfe-McMurdie Anaesthesia Inhaler of 1918 and the 2nd Australian Casualty Clearing Station. Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 2018; 46 (Issue 1 Suppl): 29-34.

2018: Dr GS Bause
The 2016 Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture: America's Doctor Anaesthetists (1862-1936) - Turning a Tide of Asphyxiating Waves.  Journal of Anesthesia History 2017; 3: 12-18.